Monday, May 9, 2016

The Whitney Awards

Finalist Titles for 2015
Named for Orson Whitney, who stated that "We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own...",  the Whitney Awards celebrate the achievement of LDS Authors and literary excellence. This was my first year to attend the awards banquet. The five finalists in eight genres, three best-of-the-year categories, and two Achievement Awards were honored. What a wonderful accomplishment to all candidates who got that far.

It all starts with LDS authors who write exceptional books. Any reader can nominate a book that impressed them or they loved by going to A book needs five separate nominations to be considered. Then a committee of readers narrow down the field, who become the top five finalists. Lastly, a group of publishers, agents, and authors who read all finalists in that category can vote for a winner.

Have you read a book by an LDS author that you deem worthy to be considered as a candidate for the Whitney Awards? Do your part and nominate! This is a reader-based award.

Finalists gather for a group photo
Congratulations to the 2015 finalists and winners! You are all awesome!


Rebecca Jamison said...

Everyone always talks like that prophecy by Orson F. Whitney is something that will happen in the future. I feel like it's something that's happening now. We have amazing authors in our midst.

Renae Mackley said...

Yes we do, Becky! When you consider that Whitney lived in the 1800s, the future is now. You are one of those amazing authors!